Skip to main content

Introducing the Trust

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust is one of the UK's largest teaching Trusts responsible for managing two major hospitals in Coventry and Rugby, which between them serve a population of over a million people. We are the principal teaching hospital for Warwick Medical School with whom we work in close partnership to develop innovative medical education programmes and clinical research.

The hospitals are:

Hospital of St Cross, Rugby

University Hospital, Coventry

The Trust was first established in 1992 and expanded to include Rugby in 1998.

Every year we provide more than 800,000 episodes of care to patients from across Coventry, Warwickshire and beyond.

The NHS Provider Licence was introduced during 2013 as part of the Foundation Trust Regime and replaced the former authorisation process. Whilst NHS Trusts are exempt from holding a Provider Licence, Trusts are required to undertake a self-assessment to ensure compliance with the conditions set out in the licence that are relevant to NHS Trusts.

• Provider Licence Self Certification - 2020-21

• G6 and CoS7 - 2020-21

• Provider Licence Self Certification - 2019-20

• G6 and CoS7 - 2019-20

• Provider Licence Self Certification - 2018-19

• G6 and CoS7 - 2018-19